Carrot Cake with Vegan Cashew Frosting

acake

Oh my goody goodness.  I am in love with this recipe – not to mention the entire blog I found this recipe on.  Again, I tweaked it a little bit to make it easier on myself and hopefully on you guys.

Also, I know I missed putting up a recipe for last week but there is good reason for it.  I was off to Montana to a camp in the middle of nowhere for a service project and had no access to internet, etc.  So hopefully you can enjoy this cellphone picture I snapped. It is crazy beautiful there. IMAG3008

Anyway – I love sweet treats and this hit the spot perfectly.  You should make this because I can guarantee you will love it (maybe not, but I think you’d be crazy not to)

So, what you’ll need:

Frosting 

2 cups cashews, preferably soaked for a couple hours
1-2 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons liquid coconut oil
1/3 cup maple syrup

Cake

2 large carrots, peeled
1 1/2 cups oat flour or buckwheat flour
2 cups dates
1/2 cup dried coconut
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

To make the frosting, measure all the frosting ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth, nice and simple.

For the cake, there are two ways to make this.

The first way is if you don’t have a very good blender/food processor.  If that is the case, shred your carrots and combine with the oat flour, coconut, and cinnamon.  Chop the dates into small pieces with a knife and then add to the carrot mixture.  Mix everything together – you will need to use your hands to knead it into a dough that sticks together.  Be patient – and by patient I mean it will take like 2 minutes.

If you have a good food processor, this is the way for you.  Chop your carrots into small pieces and place them in your blender along with all the other cake ingredients.  Blend, and voila, you are done.

Now to put it all together.  Layer half of the cake mix into a cake pan…I used a 9″ pie pan, simply because that’s what I had on hand.  Spread out 1/3-1/2 the frosting on top of the carrot mixture.  Place it in the freezer and let it sit until the frosting gets hard – if you’re in a rush and just want to eat this right away (like me) then forget the part about the freezer.  The freezing is just so that the layers stay separate – personally, I don’t know why you would want to wait to eat this.  I am a-okay having a cake that doesn’t look perfect as long as it tastes delicious. However, if you’re into presentation and looks then make sure you throw this in the freezer for a few hours.   Your next step is to add the remaining carrot cake on top of the frosting layer and then add the remaining frosting on top of that.

To finish off, crush up some walnuts (or toppings of your choices) and sprinkle them over the top of the cake.  And you’re done! Easy easy easy and delicious delicious delicious.

Ps – I apologize for the lack of pictures, the rest got deleted somehow before I posted this and naturally all the cake is gone so I will snap some more next time I make this recipe (which is likely going to be soon as I made it twice in one week already….that’s how good it is).

Leave a Reply

