Spinach and Artichoke Dip

???????????????????????????????

My favourite appetizer at restaurants is the Spinach and Artichoke dip that comes alongside warm, toasted pitas or chips – does it get any better than that  warm, creamy cheesy flavour?  I don’t think so, but it can get a lot better than sour cream and other cheeses when it comes to what you’re putting in your body – so that’s why I came up with this recipe.  I had a craving for this dip the other day and didn’t want to put all the junk in my body – but I still wanted the great taste.  In hopes to do that, I found this recipe and adapted it.

So, what you’ll need:

1 (14 ounce) can artichoke hearts

1/2 tub (250g or 8 ounces) Greek Yogurt (whatever % of fat you prefer)

1 package frozen spinach, thawed and drained OR 4 cups of fresh spinach

1/2 cup goat cheese (or your favourite cheese – I also love it with feta)

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup green onion, finely chopped (or white/yellow)

diced red peppers to top – optional

Preheat your oven to 350F.

To begin making the dip, chop the artichoke hearts to size, depending on how chunky you want the dip (I like to go as far as blending them with the yogurt because I don’t like tons of chunks).  When they are chopped to your satisfaction, place them in a bowl with the Greek Yogurt.  If you are using frozen spinach chop it finely and add it to the yogurt mixture; if you are using fresh spinach, chop it finely and steam it for 5-8 minutes and then add it to the yogurt mixture.  Add in the remaining ingredients – goat cheese, garlic and onions and mix everything together.

When your dip has all been mixed, pour it into an oven safe 9″ pan (or whatever pan you prefer that will hold the dip) and bake for 20-25 minutes, it will start to bubble and turn a little brown on the top when its ready.  (If you are adding red peppers, the time is now!  Sprinkle them on top just before you throw it in the oven.)

Let the dip cool slightly – now its ready to serve!  Serve it alongside of your favourite dippers – pita bread, pita chips, tortilla chips, fresh veggies, etc!  I like to dip this into whatever I can get my hands on.  I hope you love this just as much as I do!

??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????  ???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

