Who Knew Cheesecake Could Be So Healthy And Taste So Good

???????????????????????????????

Thank goodness for Pinterest – because of it, I was able to find this blog!

And thanks to said blog, I can provide you with this recipe.  Can I say delicious? Seriously, it just tastes so good.

I’m sure her recipe is delicious, but I changed it up a little bit to make it a bit easier (in my opinion).

So, what you’ll need:

Crust

2 cups almonds

5 dried figs or dates

1 tsp salt

1/4 cup melted butter

Cheesecake Centre

2 cups Greek Yogurt (she suggests full fat but I used 2% and it was fine)

2/3 cup honey

1 15 oz can coconut creme OR the top thick part of 2 cans of coconut milk (when the milk separates and is more watery at the bottom with a thicker creme on the top of the can – this is what I used)

1 tsp vanilla extract

Berry Topping

1/3 pound of your favourite frozen berries

1 granny smith apple, peeled and grated

1/3 can apple juice

So!  Let’s make a cheesecake you don’t have to feel bad about eating.  Roast your almonds in a pan on 425F for 5-8 minutes – I did it for 10 minutes my first time around and they ended up burning, don’t let this happen on your crust will taste like coffee grounds – keep them roasted lightly 🙂  Combine all the crust toppings in a food processor and process.  Press into a 9″ pan (or in my case, double the recipe and spread it into any pan you can find) and set it aside. ???????????????????????????????

 To make the cheesecake centre, combine all the ingredients and then pour over the crust.  Set it in the refrigerator (or wait until the sauce is done and drizzle a little bit through the crust for an even berrier cake).

???????????????????????????????

For the topping, mix apples and juice concentrate in a saucepan.  Bring juice mixture to a boil, turn heat to simmer (low) for 10 minutes covered.  Add your fruit and simmer for 5 more minutes.  Uncover the pot, turn heat to medium-high and keep stirring until pulling it across the bottom of the pan causes a hissing sound (about 10 minutes).  You will start to see it thicken near the end of the last 10 minutes – feel free to drizzle some into the cheesecake centre or place it in a bowl and pour it on when you are ready to serve your cheesecake.

I am a berry lover, so I added extra berries and juice onto the cheesecake right before it was served (to my mouth….the cheesecake didn’t stick around for very long)….I hope your taste buds love this as much as mine did.

???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

