Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Recently, I decided I wanted to try eating gluten-free.  So I’ve been looking around for recipes and trying to come up with some new ones myself and I thought I’d share this one because who doesn’t like a good pizza!

The crust for this is going to come straight from this awesome blog by Detoxinista.

What you’ll need to make her crust:

4 cups raw cauliflower rice
1 egg, beaten
1/3 cup soft goat cheese (chevre)
1 teaspoon dried oregano
pinch of salt

To make cauliflower rice – processor or blend your cauliflower until you get a rice like consistancy.

???????????????????????????????

You’ll want to preheat your oven to 400 Fahrenheit.  Boil about an inch of water, and once you’ve made the rice, place it in the boiling water for 4-5 minutes.  Pour it into a strainer.  ???????????????????????????????

Once strained, pour the rice onto a thin towel,  and SQUEEZE, SQUEEZE, SQUEEZE.  You might need to wait for the rice to cool before squeezing it out…whatever works for you 🙂???????????????????????????????

Squeeze out as much water as you can!  I was amazed at all the water, but just keep squeezing!  Once you’re done squeezing out all the water, combine it with the egg, goat cheese, oregano, and salt.  After it has all been combined, form your dough on a lined cookie sheet and bake for about 40 minutes.  ???????????????????????????????

During the last 10 minutes, I added all my toppings and then placed it back in the oven – however, you can wait the full 40 minutes, add your toppings and then cook for another 5-10 minutes if you’d like a crispier crust.???????????????????????????????

As you can see – I don’t eat cheese on my pizza – I’m weird, I know.  So really, throw on your favourite spices, vegetables, meats, cheeses, whatever you like!  I threw on some of my favourite spices, red and yellow pepper, tomato, onion, jalapeño and avocado. This crust is AWESOME – you will not regret making it – plus this way you can sneak in extra serving or two of veggies without anyone realizing, and who doesn’t like extra veggies! 🙂

Anyway, I hope this pizza crust works as good for you as it did for me!  Try it out and let me know how it worked for you!  Needless to say, we didn’t end up having any leftovers.  Enjoy!    ???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

